Bend the Arc statement on House “QAnon” vote

Bend the Arc statement on House “QAnon” vote

October 02, 2020

Friday, October 2
Contact: Logan Smith
[email protected]

Bend the Arc statement on House “QAnon” vote
17 Republicans vote against condemning a fundamentally antisemitic conspiracy theory

WASHINGTON – Bend the Arc: Jewish Action released the following statement on Friday in response to the House vote to condemn QAnon:

“It’s astounding that 17 House Republicans voted against condemning a fundamentally antisemitic conspiracy theory just days after President Trump refused to condemn a white supremacist group on the national debate stage,” said Stosh Cotler, CEO of Bend the Arc: Jewish Action. “Despite the FBI declaring QAnon a potential domestic terror threat, Trump and his GOP enablers have repeatedly signaled their support for this dangerous conspiracy theory. Conspiracy theories about shadowy global puppet masters have been used to stir up fear and violence against Jewish people for centuries – including the Tree of Life massacre in 2018 – and the Republican Party’s continued mainstreaming of QAnon will only make Jewish Americans and other communities targeted by white nationalism less safe.”

“From Trump's shout-out to the Proud Boys on the debate stage to recent reports of DHS staff defending white supremacist terror groups to today's vote, it is all too clear that antisemitism, white nationalism, and conspiracy theories aren’t just rhetoric – they’re the doctrine of Trumpism,” added Cotler. “Jewish Americans and all communities targeted by white nationalists must join together in rejecting politicians who try to manufacture fear and division for political gain and build a country where all of us are safe.”

The 17 Republicans who voted "no" were Reps. Jodey Arrington (Texas), Brian Babin (Texas), Rob Bishop (Utah), Mo Brooks (Ala.), Michael Burgess (Texas), Buddy Carter (Ga.), Warren Davidson (Ohio), Jeff Duncan (S.C.), Drew Ferguson (Ga.), Bill Flores (Texas), Paul Gosar (Ariz.), Steve King (Iowa), Mike Kelly (Pa.), Ralph Norman (S.C.), Scott Perry (Pa.), Thomas Tiffany (Wis.) and Daniel Webster (Fla.).

Ex-Republican Rep. Justin Amash (L-Mich.) also voted against the resolution, and Rep. Andy Harris (R-Md.), voted present.

Bend the Arc: Jewish Action is uniting a movement of tens of thousands of progressive Jews across the country who are fighting for justice and equality for all. We are the only national Jewish organization focused exclusively on social change in the United States.